Association honors 2017 Image Award Winners at Annual Member Convention


BATON ROUGE, LA –  Association leaders are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 LAE Image Awards. LAE’s prestigious Image Awards honor association members for leadership in their professions.

LAE Teacher Image Award
Tia Mills, East Baton Rouge Parish
LAE ESP Image Award
Veronica Thibeaux, Vermilion Parish
LAE Human and Civil Right Trailblazer Award
Joe Gant, Caddo Parish
President’s Award
Ben Nevers, Washington Parish

LAE Lifetime Achievement Award
Lynda Guidry, St. Martin Parish

The LAE Teacher and Education Support Professional (ESP) Image Awards recognize outstanding educators who’ve advanced the image of teachers and ESPs within Louisiana’s public schools. The awards judge individuals on their professional practice, advocacy for the profession, community engagement, leadership in professional development, and attention to diversity.

In addition to public school employees being honored, Shreveport-area minister Joe Gant, Jr. was recognized with the LAE Human and Civil Rights Trailblazer Award, for his steadfast advancement of Civil Rights actions in his community. Mr. Ben Nevers was honored with the LAE President’s Award for his consistent advocacy and support of Louisiana’s public schools and Mrs. Lynda Guidry was acknowledged with the LAE Lifetime Achievement Award for her 40 years of service to the association.

Awardees were recognized at 2017 LAE Representative Assembly on Saturday, April 23, 2017, at the Capitol Hilton in Baton Rouge. The teacher and education support professional winners will be submitted to the National Education Association (NEA) for national honors.

Back to News Listing